The Negative Voice
Newest Entry Older Entries Guestbook Contact Me Get Your Own Diary Links Imagemap

Valid HTML 4.01!

[Get Opera for Windows!]

2002-12-07 -

Dialog Envy

Remember Pearl Harbor.

Yesterday (Friday) was a mass layoff at the office. I didn't lose my job but I had to break the bad news to one of my guys, someone I rather liked personally. As a result I spent most of Friday in a funk. Feh. I'm not quite out of it yet, even.

Today I slept pretty damn late, did the last of my Xmas shopping on line, and then went to a party at my coworker Guy's house. If I'd been in a better mood I probably would have cornered his wife (who will some day soon be my real estate agent) and talked her ear off with questions about the house-buying process, but I just didn't have the social energy.

I'm becoming increasingly addicted to Preacher, to the point where I have to keep reminding myself that while I could buy the rest of the series (that's out in paperback so far) for only about $70, I don't have $70 to blow on comic books just now. Damnit. As hardships go it's not exactly epic, but as I so often say, I'm just not built to resist temptation. I dealt with it Friday by buying one of the books with money I'd gotten by cashing out my points in an online survey program and then watching The Outlaw Josey Wales. I adore that movie.

"You a bounty hunter?"

"Man's go to earn a livin'."

"Dyin' ain't much of a livin', boy."

If there was good money in it, I think I'd like to be a wandering gunfighter. Those guys get all the best lines.

Previous entry: The Blargh Before the Other Blargh

Next entry: Sanity?

Menu Bar about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!