The Negative Voice
Newest Entry Older Entries Guestbook Contact Me Get Your Own Diary Links Imagemap

Valid HTML 4.01!

[Get Opera for Windows!]

2002-12-23 -

Weekend+ Recap

Wow! I feel human again! Yay me!

I didn't start to feel OK again until last Friday, and even then I slept a good chunk of the day. Late in the day I was well enough to see The Two Towers, which I think pretty much kicked ass overall. At some later date I will doubtless write at length about how much I hated some of the changes they made from the book, but not tonight. I have other stuff to do.

Saturday I got together with many friends to exchange Xmas presents, and a good time was had by all. I wish I saw everyone like that without needing the excuse of the holidays or someone's birthday. On the other hand, hopefully I'll have a house soon, with room and such, and I'll be able to host my own damn parties as often as I want.

Sunday I had the Xmas thang at my folks house. We had to celebrate three days early because my sister has to go back to Redneck Hell, Arkansas on Xmas Eve. Anyway, Liralyn had a fabulous time and got lots of loot, while I had a good time and got some loot and some "Amazon seems to be putting off delaying the loot we ordered" notices. Amazon's performance this year hasn't sucked on the absolute scale, but I hope they're aware of the urgent need for improvement. But anyway, they didn't ruin my holiday, no sir.

Finally, today I went to see Owen and Sara at Owen's dad's house. I got there early enough to exchange a word or two with William, then talked about all manner of things with Owen and Sara. I don't specifically miss them a lot, because they're here too rarely for me to ever expect them to be around. Every time I see them again, I get to be pleasantly surprised all over again by how cool they are. That's no substitute for seeing them more often, but it's a consolation prize of sorts.

Finally, I got started on the big PC rebuild. After having some arguments with my computer about what ought to be simple things, I've decided that I may have to expand the scope of the project a bit. I never should have tried to break one of my personal rules for simplifying computer support: Never upgrade a computer's OS. Essential parts like the motherboard get tested with the OS that's current when they're made and then forgotten in the rush to make newer stuff. Am I happy? No. I had planned to replace my motherboard, but not for a few months yet, when technology had advanced another quarter of a year's worth. But given that I was going to spend the money sooner or later, I can't bring myself to feel awful, either.

Previous entry: Damn I'm Grumpy

Next entry: Week Update

Menu Bar about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!