The Negative Voice
Newest Entry Older Entries Guestbook Contact Me Get Your Own Diary Links Imagemap

Valid HTML 4.01!

[Get Opera for Windows!]

2003-1-1 -

Week Update

Happy New Year, readers.

This year I resolve to buy a house. Once I have the house I can start to think about the rest of my future. Right now there's sort of an event horizon there, beyond which I cannot imagine clearly or make plans.

I've really enjoyed this week-plus of vacation. As I stop to think about it, I didn't do a lot of things or see a lot of people, but I've been able to relax in a way that I haven't in far too long. In 2003 I'll get a third week of paid vacation at work (assuming I don't get laid off- otherwise I get as much unpaid vacation as I want, I guess), and that ought to allow me to take some time off in the middle of the year without forcing me to work through the holidays. I think 15-18 days a year pretty much covers my vacation needs. At Umich I got 24 days per year and never once took them all. Past a certain point, regardless of alleged company policy, you end up having to come back and do all the work you would have been doing while you were gone, and that takes the fun out of it.

The only loss for this recent vacation came from my aged 440BX motherboard. Having failed to make my WinXP installation run happily on it, I'm faced with rebuilding my computer this coming weekend, instead of doing it after Xmas like I wanted to. If y'all don't hear from my again until Monday, it's because my computer may be down unpredictably until then.

Previous entry: Weekend+ Recap

Next entry: Just Another Week of Computing

Menu Bar about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!