The Negative Voice
Newest Entry Older Entries Guestbook Contact Me Get Your Own Diary Links Imagemap

Valid HTML 4.01!

[Get Opera for Windows!]

2001-01-24 - 1:01:37 PM

Marriage musings

Finally got hold of Shelley last night after days of trying and failing to reach her by phone. As always, it was good to talk to her. It was especially nice that Lucy was talking in the background and making jokes with me. I don't think anybody always gets along fine with their friends' SOs, and I'm no exception. It would be awfully hard if Shelley had married someone I didn't like, and I'm glad she didn't.

I've actually been real lucky, now that I think about it. Of all the weddings I've been to, only the Sean/Wendi one really caused me grief. Marc and Stacy, Danno and Jill, Owen and Sara... all of them are really nice couples to know. And I have to admit I'm looking forward to Dwinn and Julie's. It's gonna be so *cute*... I just hope I haven't jinxed it.

I want to marry Julie someday, but not yet. Things are going well right now, but they've fluctuated so darn much, and we aren't done yet. I want us to live together first. I know I want to live with the woman I love, and if it turns out Julie and I can't live together, I want to be able to make a decision about it without having to throw divorce into the mix.

I know Julie has the opposite feeling- she wants to be married before we move in together, so that we'll be committed to providing a stable home for Liralyn. I just don't agree. If we can't live together, then no matter what binds us together, it won't make for a happy home for her. It'll just make finding another arrangement that much more painful.

If there's anybody reading this, I highly recommend doing things in the usual order. Meet some girl who lives in the same town. Date. Fall in love. Move in together. Get married. Have kids. Mixing up those parts doesn't work nearly as well.

Previous entry: Oh please, oh please, lie to me

Next entry: Sadistic Glee in the Office

Menu Bar about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!