The Negative Voice
Newest Entry Older Entries Guestbook Contact Me Get Your Own Diary Links Imagemap

Valid HTML 4.01!

[Get Opera for Windows!]

2001-01-25 - 2:33:14 PM

Sadistic Glee in the Office

I think this cursed product that I've been working on for 18 months now is finally imploding. I ought to be sad- I mean, at one point this product was going to be a strategic cornerstone of our corporate revenue stream. But I'm not sad, I'm delighted. Screwups need to be seen to have negative results, or else they prosper. I can't exempt us from that rule, even if I wanted to.

I have no real idea what I'm doing next. It's actually sort of nervous making. Without the backdrop of a project that was destined to go wrong right from the start, I'm going to face a lot more pressure to succeed. I guess there's real reason to worry about that, though. I'm committed to doing this work, and I can't hardly count on going through life making my self look good by using stupider people for contrast. Time to step up and deliver.

Besides, I can feel myself and my crew getting rusty. People need to succeed in order to perform at their best. Geeks are no different. Neither are the Minnesota Vikings.

Will I be as good a manager trying to govern a raging torrent of geek triumph as I have been in trying to stem a flood tide of failure? It's gonna be fun finding out.

Previous entry: Marriage musings

Next entry: No Future Operations

Menu Bar about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!