The Negative Voice
Newest Entry Older Entries Guestbook Contact Me Get Your Own Diary Links Imagemap

Valid HTML 4.01!

[Get Opera for Windows!]

2002-03-07 -

Who Dares Ignore Outrage?

Today is technically the 8th, but it's barely twenty minutes old, so this diary gets back-dated.

I didn't sleep much last weekend. I didn't lose sleep per se, but I slept no more than six or seven hours a night, where I'd prefer eight and need nine to wake up feeling truly ready for the day. I can get by on six for quite a while, but failing to recharge over the weekend meant I ran out midweek. I basically slept through today. I managed to wake up enough to have some fun with Liralyn, but it certainly was not my best daddy day. On the other hand she liked me all night, so maybe she has a different notion of best than I do.

The big problem I ran into today was professional. I had two different conversations that revolved around difficulty imposing my will on people, both inside and outside my group. I hate that sort of situation. I understand that there's a time when a leader has to just say "do it because I'm in charge and I say so," but whenever you do so, you run the risk of being ignored and thus finding yourself out of the leadership business. Given that our pay scale isn't the greatest, even threatening to fire people isn't guaranteed to get cooperation. Ugh.

Nothing to do about it but just try to be a little more forceful and a little more inspiring and a little bit more in general, and hope for the best.

Previous entry: Still (barely) Smarter than Liralyn

Next entry: Tunes

Menu Bar about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!