The Negative Voice
Newest Entry Older Entries Guestbook Contact Me Get Your Own Diary Links Imagemap

Valid HTML 4.01!

[Get Opera for Windows!]

2002-03-10 -

Tunes

Last Friday night- March 1, that is- I caught North playing live at Borders. It wasn't their best set ever, but ever since I've been devoting a lot more mental energy to music than usual.

I miss being in a band sometimes. There were two basic satisfactions to playing bass. First, nothing else quite duplicates the feeling of really clicking with a drummer. It's not better than sex or anything, but it's pretty damn cool. Second, the physics of the bass make for an appealing power trip. You just brush the string with the tip of your finger, and thanks to your various attached devices, huge noise comes booming out. Back in the day that noise was sometimes vast enough to know things over in nearby rooms- I never thought restraint in the production of bass was a virtue.

Alas, I have next to no musical talent of my own. On the other hand, I bet I'm a better sysadmin than Geddy Lee, so I can live with it.

Previous entry: Who Dares Ignore Outrage?

Next entry: Losing Sleep @ $1,000 Per Day

Menu Bar about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!