The Negative Voice
Newest Entry Older Entries Guestbook Contact Me Get Your Own Diary Links Imagemap

Valid HTML 4.01!

[Get Opera for Windows!]

2002-06-28 -

Happy Birthday to Me

So far I've been thirty for a day and it doesn't feel too different. I'd find this more reassuring if the weekend prior to the birthday had been better- that is, I hope being thirty won't always feel like I'm standing in between two disasters.

Yesterday I tried to skip work, but the issues I mentioned last diary forced me in to the office. (Well, technically, it was my professional pride that forced me.) I only got to take about half the day off. Nonetheless, it was good. I had a couple hours of adult conversation with Julie, and then we both went to pick Liralyn up from day care. This was the first time in history that both her parents had picked her up, and she thought it was awfully neat. Then Jill came over, since she couldn't come to any of my other birthday events, and we all had a swell time. I received gifts. I liked them.

Today I worked a bit and then went to celebrate some more at my parents' house, where I had several of my favorite foods. One of them was rock shrimp, which I hadn't had in fifteen or more years. The family recipe had to be reinvented and we missed it by a little bit, but they were quite tasty. Once again I received gifts, and once again I liked them.

If turning thirty meant that you got good stuff from your friends every single day, I bet people would like it more.

Anyway... tomorrow is paintball action and dinner at Sabor Latino, which means I need to go get the car loaded for human prey and then sleep some.

Hmm... just went to clear received gifts off my Amazon wishlist and saw that someone has ordered me a second copy of the Superbit DVD three pack. Whomever you are, if it's not too late, you may want to cancel that- I only really need one copy. :)

Previous entry: A Somewhat Busy Day

Next entry: Whirlwind Weekend

Menu Bar about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!