The Negative Voice
Newest Entry Older Entries Guestbook Contact Me Get Your Own Diary Links Imagemap

Valid HTML 4.01!

[Get Opera for Windows!]

2002-03-15 -

Agress!

Continuing our theme of lack of sleep...

Last night I didn't really feel tired until after 6 (hardly surprising, since even then I'd only been up fourteen hours). Today I've been pretty conclusively out of the zone. Feh.

While I was up late last night, I finished a book Jill loaned me. It's called Heroes Die and features a complete and utter badass named Caine. The author says that part of Caine's badass-ness comes from his utter disregard for, well, everything once the fight has been joined. He just jumps on in with both feet.

While my own powers of badass-ness are sorely limited, I recognize the description. When I was in grade school, we used to play floor hockey in gym class. I was never a great player, but I usually got picked in the second tier despite my lack of ability. Why? Because we had no fouls. If the teacher didn't see it, and nobody ended up bleeding on the floor, it was legal. I could defend a goal just by blocking someone's stick, checking them away from the puck, and slapping the puck the hell away from my team's goal. There wasn't a soul in the school I wouldn't cheerfully throw myself at to stop them from scoring, and everyone knew it.

I play paintball and Warhammer 40k the same way. Scream, leap, let the fun commence and the count the casualties in hell. For that reason, I really hope I never get involved in real-life combat. People like me don't live very long. But it sure is fun to pretend.

Previous entry: No Day Today

Next entry: I See My Friends and Miss Them

Menu Bar about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!