The Negative Voice
Newest Entry Older Entries Guestbook Contact Me Get Your Own Diary Links Imagemap

Valid HTML 4.01!

[Get Opera for Windows!]

2002-03-20 -

Nancy & Shelley & Robyn, Oh My!

Lunch with Nancy went as it usually does, which is to say that one of us was fifteen minutes late. We tend to take turns with that duty, which ensures that nobody can enter into a long-term state of guilt over it. It was nice to see her again. Unlike myself, Nancy lives in a world completely filled with interesting people and interesting things to do. She went to Paris in February, she's going to Bermuda next month, she's getting better at climbing, I'm teaching her to shoot this weekend, and so on, and so on. I like listening to her talk, but in the back of my mind I sometimes wonder how on earth she doesn't just get worn out by it. I suppose not everyone can enjoy the comforts of home in quite the same way I do.

I had dinner with Shelley and Robyn, as previously discussed. They got to town early, which forced me to leave work early, but for them I don't mind making sacrifices. Robyn has been losing weight and looks about the same way she did when she was twenty, at which age I found her rather more attractive than I was comfortable with. Thankfully, I can cope better now. Back then I found a certain level of crazy behavior attractive, but as I near thirty I can spot the downside a bit more easily. Perhaps it would be more accurate to say that crazy at twenty is a fun stage to live through and outgrow, but crazy at twenty-seven suggests long-term difficulty. Of course, I'll be crazy at any age, but hopefully more in a "if he ever snaps it's good-bye, town" way, not a "what on earth is he thinking?" way.

Seeing Robyn and Shelley together for the first time in a couple of years was interesting. For those of you who don't take notes on my life, Robyn is Shelley's younger sister, and Shelley is more or less my third-favorite person in the whole world. I know Shell better than she likes to admit, but there are still things I don't get, and some of them make more sense when I see her around her family. After all, nobody pushes your buttons like the folks who installed them, and sibling rivalry is probably the best button of all. Their ongoing quest for social dominance over one another makes amusing dinner theater but would get old if I had to live in the same house with both of them. Of course, I've spent several years living by myself and liking it, so my estimates of the turmoil caused by cohabitation could be on the high side.

Anyway, today was a very nice day, and if more days were like it, I would be happy.

Previous entry: Eh

Next entry: Bring On the Human Shield

Menu Bar about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!