The Negative Voice
Newest Entry Older Entries Guestbook Contact Me Get Your Own Diary Links Imagemap

Valid HTML 4.01!

[Get Opera for Windows!]

2002-12-10 -

The Many Perils of Sleeplessness

Another night of too little sleep. Luckily I had work to do that could better be done at home anyway, where nobody could see the dazed and tired look in my eye. I always find it easier to write someone's performance appraisal when they're not sitting nearby. Our layoffs have pruned off most of the staff who I might have ever said something negative about, but it's still easier to write the prose in a private setting.

Luckily, there's no dialog in a performance appraisal, so I can write them sucessfully.

Dan and Jill came over to Chez Julie for dinner tonight, and Liralyn put on quite the... performance, I guess. She got really revved up and had much time settling down, much less leaving us to have a conversation. We all ate way too much pot roast, so nobody had the energy to chase Liralyn around the house or otherwise keep her distracted, so she got a little aggressive in seeking out attention. It's a nasty little paradox. Julie's a great cook, and I always want to pig out at dinner, but Liralyn always wants to play after dinner, and that won't work if I have a fully stuffed stomach. There has to be a better plan. Maybe if I'd gotten more than five and a half hours of sleep last night, I would have thought of it by now.

Previous entry: Mostly Harmless

Next entry: Presents for (Some of) You and Me

Menu Bar about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!