The Negative Voice
Newest Entry Older Entries Guestbook Contact Me Get Your Own Diary Links Imagemap

Valid HTML 4.01!

[Get Opera for Windows!]

2002-12-13 -

Presents for (Some of) You and Me

I'm sitting at my computer waiting for it to finish copying 16gb of MP3s from my old hard drive array to my new 80gb backup drive. I had planned to use my normal backup software, but oh no, it detected that I had disconnect my tape drive to hook up the new hard drive. Since this backup program came with the tape drive, it won't back up now. Apparently it doesn't mind backing up to disk and just occasionally looking over its shoulder to make sure Big Daddy Travan is still there if it needs it, but just let Mr Travan out of sight, and we get panic.

I look forward to getting my new commercial backup program via UPS soon.

In other news, I met my new boss face-to-face this week, and feel a little better about the future than I used to. My old boss never seemed able to get in front and actually lead. He occupied himself with making sure we didn't look bad, or get noticed too much, but never came up with a vision or moved us forward. I'd like to think that was going to change. Even more than that, though, I really like the idea that I only work three days next week and only one or two the week after. I could use another long break. Why I'm going to spend it upgrading my Win 98 box to Win XP is vaguely beyond me, but I'll feel better once its over.

Oh yeah, and while I was doing a "verify" on my new hard drive, I wrapped all the presents I've bought so far. I hate wrapping presents. There's a certain size and shape of thing that I feel competent to wrap, and beyond that I always end up with loose edges and big folds of excess paper and general messiness. It almost makes me wish I'd just had Amazon wrap 'em all, except that their wrapping charges add so damn fast. Cut it to $1 per gift and I'd be sold.

Previous entry: The Many Perils of Sleeplessness

Next entry: Viva Liberty

Menu Bar about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!