The Negative Voice
Newest Entry Older Entries Guestbook Contact Me Get Your Own Diary Links Imagemap

Valid HTML 4.01!

[Get Opera for Windows!]

2002-11-07 -

Pack Rats and Odd Finger Growth

I love being a pack rat sometimes. This year's Halloween costume consists almost entirely of stuff I couldn't bring myself to throw away. What do I have that could convey the general "Asian demon" look that my mask implies? Let's open up the closet and see here... pants from ninjutsu lessons six years ago! Rock! And what's in this box... the kimono Kristen gave me ten years ago! Look, no caterpillars! Add one borrowed bokken and we're off to the races.

I only have one worry now: The entire outfit has no pockets and no feasible way of adding any. Provisional plan: lock license and token credit card inside car's glove compartment. Wear car key on lanyard around neck, under kimono, as I do at paintball. Keep fingers crossed.

My fingers are so crossed they're likely to just permanently entwine, actually. My employer's fortunes do not seem optimal, what with constantly increasing negative earnings restatements, lobby groups asking the government to cancel all contracts with us, and commentators speculating that we'll never get back on our feet and should just be broken up now. I understand that the company might get broken up, but the people who think that the entire company- which still employs over 50,000 people- should be punished because the board set a new standard for corruption and deceit in our industry have taken the doctrine of collective punishment way beyond any sphere of applicability it ever had. If you want to line up and shoot the guilty, I'll bring the ammo, but let the rest of us have a fair shot at doing what needs to be done.

Previous entry: Poor Parenting and Planned Indifference

Next entry: Paging Mr Pivot

Menu Bar about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!