The Negative Voice
Newest Entry Older Entries Guestbook Contact Me Get Your Own Diary Links Imagemap

Valid HTML 4.01!

[Get Opera for Windows!]

2002-11-10 -

Paging Mr Pivot

This was a very Dan and Jill-centric weekend. I saw them at the Halloween party Friday, and dinner Saturday, and then had lunch and game planning time with Jill today. They're going to have to start sucking down activiated charcoal to filter out the Outrage in their blood.

The party was fun, although less fun that it would have been with more of my friends in town. I got to hear Joe and Christine of North attempt their utterly sweet song "The 59th Day", and that was cool. One of these days I will browbeat Joe into recording it properly- the cut on their first CD is pre-Christine, and any acapella piece must be radically transformed by the addition of a female vocalist singing a well-written part.

Dinner Saturday was of course fun, and watching Michigan kick Minnesota's tail was nice too.

As for Sunday's game-planning session... heh heh heh. Some lucky few will find out.

I've been meaning to do this for a while, and tonight seems like a fine time. Without further ado, the questionare from Inside the Actor's Studio:

What is your favorite word?

I have an inclination to flippantly pick something sexual, but for the sake of posterity, I'll go with "integrity".

What is your least favorite word?

Government.

What turns you on?

Leverage. Any kind of leverage, any situation where I can get a disproportionate reaction to my action.

What turns you off?

Hype. The way advertisers hype products, the way the media hype up a story until all context for it vanishes... there are all sorts of hype, and I dislike them all.

What sound or noise do you love?

All parents choose the sound of their child. In my case, I especially like listening to Liralyn explain her theories. She has this exaggeratedly patient tone in her voice, like she's just humouring the foolish grownups who can't figure this stuff out for themselves.

What sound or noise do you hate?

Children shrieking.

What is your favorite curse word?

Fuck, and the innumerable variations thereof. It's just so basic and flexible. I go through phases of using other curses, but that one is essential.

What profession other than your own would you like to attempt?

If I had the aptitude, I'd love to be a football linebacker. Assuming I'm stuck with the aptitudes I actually have, I'd like to be a photographer.

What profession would you not like to participate in?

I would hate to be responsible for selling anything. I don't mind being in a position to sell people the thing they want, but so often in America sales means trying to convince people that they want what you're selling, and I would not want any part of that.

If heaven exists, what would you like to hear God say when you arrive at the Pearly Gates?

"Please don't hurt me."

Previous entry: Pack Rats and Odd Finger Growth

Next entry: Poor Bear (Not Mer)

Menu Bar about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!