The Negative Voice
Newest Entry Older Entries Guestbook Contact Me Get Your Own Diary Links Imagemap

Valid HTML 4.01!

[Get Opera for Windows!]

2002-12-17 -

Big. Really Big.

Today I tried to take the day off work and take Liralyn to the Henry Ford Museum. I say "tried" because I've ended up putting in almost half a day. I had a couple of phone calls before I left home to try to coordinate a big end-of-year equipment purchase, and then I just got done getting through my email and sending out some mail to keep things moving along without me.

Liralyn feel asleep at nap time when I didn't show up right away, so she was super-grumpy when I got there and tried to wake her up. I had to carry her to the car and let her sleep all the way to the museum. Once we got there, she woke up and had a good time. She really liked the locomotives. I want me a railroad snowplow unit. The model on display came from Canadian Pacific, and the scoop had to be ten feet high if it was an inch. I can't wrap my head around the probably operating parameters for such a device. Does a train have enough traction to just shove snow aside at a nice, slow, steady pace? Or do they have to carry some headway to make sure they don't just grind to a stop in deep snow? And how deep can the snow get, anyway? That ten foot scoop implies that they might try to run through several feet of snow. I want video footage, damnit. Also one of my own. You know, for the driveway.

Previous entry: Prickly and Arrogant, and Proud of It

Next entry: Damn I'm Grumpy

Menu Bar about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!