The Negative Voice
Newest Entry Older Entries Guestbook Contact Me Get Your Own Diary Links Imagemap

Valid HTML 4.01!

[Get Opera for Windows!]

2002-08-21 -

Computer built

Yay! Julie's computer works, and is happily running Windows XP Pro. I had a nasty scare at one point- it suddenly shut down and wouldn't boot again- but I had no trouble finding the problem. I bought her a compact case because I knew she wouldn't want a huge monolith polluting her living room. Unfortunately, her case was so small that my lax "fix it later" cable management practices had essentially choked off all airflow. Despite having an excellent power supply and two extra cooling units, air couldn't get to the CPU, and the built-in thermal protection circuit shut it down.

That scare was nothing compared to last night, though. Either because of the computer or random other events in the world, I had a whole slew of very standard anxiety nightmares. I had the one where you forget you enrolled in a class and only remember it in time for the final, and then I had the one where you remember you're in the class but forget there's a test. I had a new one where I was told to join the change manage management call at work and didn't understand the change I was supposed to propose. Then, just for a change of scenery, I had a dream where one of my front bottom teeth was about to fall out. I woke up worrying it with my tongue. Feh.

You can see why I stayed so late working on the computer now.

Previous entry: Partially Build Computer

Next entry: But why?

Menu Bar about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!