The Negative Voice
Newest Entry Older Entries Guestbook Contact Me Get Your Own Diary Links Imagemap

Valid HTML 4.01!

[Get Opera for Windows!]

2002-03-24 -

Me Play Bass Sometimes

Mmmm... tunes.

Friday night I went to see the oft-mentioned North again, and they put on the tightest show I'd seen them do yet. In particular, they finally gave me what I've been asking for all along- the bass. The big, crunching, groovatic bass, to be precise. Have I mentioned that I like bass?

Opening for North was another band called "Fields of Industry", and their bassist also rocked. Their lead vocalist, alas, was a coffeehouse wanker. If he also writes the lyrics, as seems possible, then he is exactly like any number of people I really disliked when I was in school. How seriously can you take a guy who signs something like "there's no relief now 'til I'm dead"? Get some sex and get over your self, you putz.

Anyway, the bass rocked my world so thoroughly that I gave into temptation and hauled my bass out of the closet on Saturday night. I verified that I can still play, that I still can't play well, that I lost the tab to one of my favorite basslines, and that all my batteries were dead. But if I come up with the coin, I may just fix all that and buy a speaker cabinet so I can jam a wee bit again. Especially if I can con Joe into cooperating.

On Saturday I taught Nancy how to shoot, and did fairly well I think. At 25 feet she put her few first shots in the black and then developed the usual flinching reflex. If she practiced seriously she'd probably be kicking my ass in no time.

Saturday night I splurged a little and bought System of a Down's album Toxicity so I could work out to it. Mmm, Armenian metal. Life is good.

Mission for tonight: Re-read John Ringo's Gust Front so I can be maximally stoked when the sequel shows up at my door on Tuesday.

Previous entry: Bring On the Human Shield

Next entry: Ouch

Menu Bar about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!