The Negative Voice
Newest Entry Older Entries Guestbook Contact Me Get Your Own Diary Links Imagemap

Valid HTML 4.01!

[Get Opera for Windows!]

2003-04-01 - 12:23 p.m.

Wrapup

This entry comes to you courtesy of the virus de jour. I had plans to eat lunch with Julie and then go to work, but instead I'm out sick and free to write here before I go back to bed.

I saw an interview with some random guy-on-the-street last night who claimed that this war was unwinnable and would be the W's Vietnam. Personally I think it's a bit early to draw that conclusion after all of twelve days of fighting. Twelve days into Vietnam we didn't even know it was going to be a war.

Julie and the sprout were out of town over the weekend, so I spent some extra time at work, and also hung out with Joe, Kim, Ariana, Dave, and a bunch of people I didn't know, and then on Sunday I had dinner with Danno. It was weird to realize how long it had been since I'd talked to Danno alone rather than as part of the Danno and Jill family unit. It was nice to be able to talk solely about guy stuff, although I don't think I crave it the way Mer once craved girl talk.

I've managed to keep my resolution to do some bass stuff every day. On Sunday, instead of playing, I tried to fix the intonation on my E string. I couldn't get it right, which leads me to conclude I just got a bum string. I also noticed that the intonation screw, which I stripped when I was in high school, is showing some nasty signs of wear. At some point I'll need to have that saddle replaced. Since basses like mine haven't been made in fifteen years, that may cause me trouble. I may need to start looking for an affordable second bass if I'm still playing much after we get the house. But hell, who am I kidding? Affordable my ass. Let me try again: "I may have found an excuse to buy an expensive second bass after we get the house." There, that's honest.

I say "the house" but I should say "a house", since we're nowhere near finding one. I've been looking at web sites and magazines, and mostly I've decided that there are shitloads of really ugly houses out there.

Previous entry: Golem

Next entry: I just don't buy it

Menu Bar about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!