The Negative Voice
Newest Entry Older Entries Guestbook Contact Me Get Your Own Diary Links Imagemap

Valid HTML 4.01!

[Get Opera for Windows!]

2001-03-30 - 3:24 p.m.

Bourgeois Blues

I spent a big chunk of yesterday struggling over the house-buying question again. It didn't start that way, but everything seems to end up that way sooner or later.

Originally I was contemplating getting some new arrangements for connectivity at home. Right now I dial in to the office, and they reimburse me for my ISDN line. ISDN is a fine technology, giving me an extremely reliable 64kpbs connection. The problem with this hookup is that in last round of layoffs, people got the boot from the company without notice. I'd like a connection that would be usable on my next job, too.

But then I thought about the expense, which would either prevent me from buying any new software until I got the house, or prevent me from saving for the down payment as quickly as I'd like. Oops. Also, a new connection would require an installation charge now and another when I move. And I might need a new service provider, too, if I move far.

I had the same sort of problem when I realized I wanted a second, lower-powered computer to run Linux on. No room, no spare money just now. And with fitness gear, too.

Really taking care of gun safety will mean getting a house, too. I want to keep my weapons in a safe or a strongbox rather than depend on trigger locks, but I have no room for a safe.

I never knew saving for a house could be so easy. Everything else I want to do is getting harder everyday due to space constraints. Only real estate can save me. Now *these* are the bourgeois blues.

Previous entry: A Few Facts, for the Benefit of the Beauracracy

Next entry: The Thing With Shelley

Menu Bar about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!