The Negative Voice
Newest Entry Older Entries Guestbook Contact Me Get Your Own Diary Links Imagemap

Valid HTML 4.01!

[Get Opera for Windows!]

2001-01-28 - 1:39:55 AM

The Weirdo Sale

It's been a hectic Saturday, hence the late update. The highlight of the day was of course playing with Liralyn. The weirdest part, though, was Shade & I's trip to the Games Workshop store in Twelve Oaks mall.

First, they've been open for almost a year now, but today was their Grand Opening sale. That, right there, was a trifle weird.

Then there was the clientele. As a long-time gamer, I expect to go to a gaming store and find lots of weird or sloppy looking people, many with questionable hygenic practices- of which there were many. But there were also a ludicrous number of little kids, parents, and even a few curious onlookers.

I have to wonder about all the kids. Miniatures gaming is, in my opinion, a detail-oriented hobby. If you aren't going to try your best to create some fine-looking figures for people to look at, why not just play Magic or Squad Leader or something? And I don't think many of these kids were devoted modelers. Most little kids' armies I've seen have been narsty looking. I hope I'm wrong, though. I especially hope Liralyn wants to learn to paint minis when she's older. It will give us something in common, and encourage her to do art stuff. Maybe then she won't have my problem, where she suddenly develops a totally new set of interests after turning 23.

Anyway, there was also the sales pressure effect. The GM wanks at the store weren't pimping the merchandise real hard, but it was once again fun to see how many people will buy something they don't need or can't really use just because it's 25% off. People were buying stuff they didn't have time to paint, accessories they didn't need, and in some cases whole new games just because they were on sale. Quick tip here, folks: It's not about money, it's about value for money. If it's of no use to you, it doesn't matter how cheap it is, it isn't a good buy.

Now me, on the other hand, I really did need that extra can of sealant and all those bags of bases I bought. Really. Promise. Cross my heart...

Previous entry: No Future Operations

Next entry: It May or May Not Be Good to Be Me

Menu Bar about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!