The Negative Voice
Newest Entry Older Entries Guestbook Contact Me Get Your Own Diary Links Imagemap

Valid HTML 4.01!

[Get Opera for Windows!]

2001-06-01 - 1:29 a.m.

The Usual Syndrome

It's been four days and I'm still stoked from playing paintball again. I think it's partially because I played only the one time (and poorly at that) last season; I really like knowing that some skills remain to me, and that I can go back out there and be competetive.

In thinking about paintball, it occurred to me that my style of play encapsulates the dichotomy that dictates my performance in any physical activity: I think very fast, but my coordination sucks.

In paintball, this means I come up with good ideas and tactics but fall apart when I execute them. If I had a thousand dollars for every time I had Randy Smith in my sights, with him all unawares, and missed the shot at the last minute, I'd already be living in a very nice house.

When I shoot firearms, I see something similar at work. Judging by what I see at the range, I've put more effort into fine-tuning my form than most of my buddies. I keep my gun super-clean, I watch video tapes and read magazines, and I ruthlessly critique each day of shooting. Nonetheless, I shoot poorly. I just don't have the ability someone like Gary has to hold the sight picture and make the shot come off properly.

I could relate this to almost everything I do, but I think the point has been made. Blargh. Maybe if I continue to work hard to get into shape, some sort of hormonal response will straighten out my nervous system, too.

And maybe monkeys will fly out of Steph's butt.

Previous entry: Memorial Day 2001

Next entry: Another week, Another Friday

Menu Bar about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!