The Negative Voice
Newest Entry Older Entries Guestbook Contact Me Get Your Own Diary Links Imagemap

Valid HTML 4.01!

[Get Opera for Windows!]

2001-02-01 - 04:20:47 AM

Finally, time to rest

I am, at this very moment, not painting. I have been painting so hard that the idea of going to bed at 5am with no nagging worries about finishing painting tomorrow seems wonderful. Never mind that 5am is a stupid late time to go to bed...

The kicker is that these minis I'm painting didn't get used this week. I could have just as easily slacked off and finished them in two weeks. Oops. Oh well, Marc and I won a smashing victory anyway.

Now that I've met my personal painting objective, I'm free to actually go out and have fun this weekend. Hopefully Danno and Jill will be up for finally seeing Crouching Tiger this weekend, after two previous failed attempts to get together and see it.

My one major project for this weekend, other than relaxing, is to work on the postmortem for the Product From Hell. One of the things I'd like to do (if I stay at WCOM) is to run a group devoted to making sure that people wanting to deploy products on ICS platforms have a clear path to doing so. If I can write the postmortem with the right spin, maybe I can convince Erick and Pete that such a group ought to exist and that I should run it. If not, at least I might convince them that I'm a deep thinker. Wheee!

Yes, I did say "if I stay at WCOM". I don't have any particular plans to quit, but obviously in a time when the company is struggling to cut all forms of expenses to help the bottom line, one has to wonder about one's future. I doubt I'll get laid off, but there's a point at which that Math job at Umich might start to look good again.

My lord, that's a scary thought.

Previous entry: Towers o' Blocks

Next entry: Death

Menu Bar about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!