The Negative Voice
Newest Entry Older Entries Guestbook Contact Me Get Your Own Diary Links Imagemap

Valid HTML 4.01!

[Get Opera for Windows!]

2001-04-16 - 2:28 a.m.

She's Stupid, not Fat

I totally betrayed Mer and went to see "Bridget Jones' Diary" this weekend. I enjoyed it, more or less, though there were aspects I had trouble with. In particular, while the general direction of the film indicated that the producers expected us all to cheer for Bridget, she never displayed any particular virtue. If I met her in real life, I think I'd probably find her quite annoying. Whereas Eliza in _Pride & Prejudice_ clearly has a lot going for her, Bridget lacks both intelligence and sense, and I could not understand why Mark wanted her.

Of course, that frustration was trivialized by the idiocy of the guy who thought it was a wild coincidence that Colin Firth played a character named Darcy in _Pride & Prejudice_, too. Son, if you couldn't figure it out with all those clues, it's time to get out of the thinking game.

I'd like to take this moment to slap all the people who thought that the weight she gained for the role qualified Renee Zellwegger as "fat". Now, if you'll all just apologize to the entire human race, we'll call the issue settled.

Other than that, I spent most of the weekend sleeping or putting my new Bowflex together. Physical fitness ahoy. Really. I believe. Wheee.

Previous entry: Assorted Friday Topics

Next entry: 1st Workout

Menu Bar about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!