The Negative Voice
Newest Entry Older Entries Guestbook Contact Me Get Your Own Diary Links Imagemap

Valid HTML 4.01!

[Get Opera for Windows!]

2003-05-22 - 11:51 p.m.

Spam

I've been drawn full-scale into the spam arms race. My filters are pretty effective already - about 30% of the mail I receive is spam, and spamassassin catches something like 99.5% of it, and yet every time a piece of spam leaks through, I have to go look for a way to make sure it never happens again.

(What sort of freak has those numbers ready to hand? I'm off the deep end here.)

Needless to say, I'm all in favor of nationwide anti-spam legislation. I'd particularily endorse it if it included corporal punishment.

The thing, as I may have mentioned before, is that I work in an email-driven business. I have a hotkey on my keyboard mapped to bring my mail program to the foreground. When my 'new mail' bell goes off, I slap that button and read the message more or less my reflex. This works out great when people report problems, since I'm able to respond in real time. It also means that spammers are interrupting my work, in much the same way that cold sales calls do, and without giving me the chance to tell the caller to break his arm off and assfuck himself with it. So I get kind of cranky.

Surprise, surprise, surprise.

Previous entry: Miscellaneous Hate

Next entry: Is Today Good For You?

Menu Bar about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!