The Negative Voice
Newest Entry Older Entries Guestbook Contact Me Get Your Own Diary Links Imagemap

Valid HTML 4.01!

[Get Opera for Windows!]

2002-12-15 -

Viva Liberty

Ah, sleep. Sleep kicks ass. I think I slept for something like 20 hours the last couple of days, and I feel almost human again. Other than that, I wrapped a few more presents, bought another present (having had to cancel a couple things from Amazon that were never going to get here on time), read one of the books Jill gave me, and watched movies.

Mr Smith Goes to Washington didn't work for me. I really expected it to, so that disappointed me more than you'd expect. I suspect the style of the period killed it more than flaws with the specifics of the movie. It lacked any sense of subtlety, the final resolution of the movie came out of nowhere, and Mr Smith's obsession with young boys seemed bizarre to me. Frank Capra had mad directing game, but not every film can stand the test of time.

Still, I don't mind the reminder that even half a century ago, people knew we once had a good thing in this country and lost it. We haven't taken it back yet, but it may not be too late. Vote Libertarian, y'all.

Previous entry: Presents for (Some of) You and Me

Next entry: Prickly and Arrogant, and Proud of It

Menu Bar about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!