The Negative Voice
Newest Entry Older Entries Guestbook Contact Me Get Your Own Diary Links Imagemap

Valid HTML 4.01!

[Get Opera for Windows!]

2001-07-12 - 1:19 a.m.

Not My Best Day

Ah, another day, another skipped workout. I totally suck.

It's not just work, though. It's the combination of work and everything else. Tonight, for example, Liralyn wouldn't go to bed until 10:30. That puts me at home after 11pm. I need to be up at 9am. There's just no room there for a workout, cooldown period, snack, and so forth. I could go to bed sweaty, hungry, and grump because I didn't read a single page. Or I could conclude that working out doesn't matter that much and write in my diary.

On one hand, I feel bad because I'm failing to follow through on a commitment I made to myself. On the other hand, almost everything in life is a commitment to oneself, and when overbooked, you break some of them. There's just no help for it I can see.

So, I suck on the workout front. At least I had enough strength today not to snap at Liralyn when she got on my nerves. The boo watches way too much TV and, as a result, takes it way too seriously. Tonight she kept whimpering and asking Mommy to hold her because she was afraid a Skullasaurus would show up on the TV. The program? "Winnie the Pooh and friends: The Search for Christopher Robin." I'm sorry, but anyone who gets scared during a Pooh movie needs to calm down a bit. But I kept quiet and let Mommy hold her.

Now, if I thought bellowing "shut up! It's a Pooh video! Get a grip!" would have worked, it might be a different story. I'm not a good Dad, I'm a good enough Dad.

Previous entry: Tradeoffs

Next entry: Damn the Internet Anyway

Menu Bar about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!