The Negative Voice
Newest Entry Older Entries Guestbook Contact Me Get Your Own Diary Links Imagemap

Valid HTML 4.01!

[Get Opera for Windows!]

2001-04-25 - 4:49 p.m.

3 plus 3 is 6

Today I spent the first hour of the workday writing a remarkably stupid database query. It grew to five lines long by the time I had it right, and it included data from four different tables. As I said on the office IRC channel, I can't decide if that makes me unclean or totally l33t.

Spent last night with Julie and Liralyn, as usual. Liralyn learned a new trick- she knows some basic addition now. Well, sometimes she does, and sometimes she works it out by counting on her fingers. I still think it's cool. I like her new eagerness to disobey us rather less, but Julie tells me that whenever a child goes through some major developmental change like potty training, that child wants to test all the old rules to see if they still apply.

On the plus side, I can handle giggling "come chase me, Daddy" disobedience more easily than I can handle the screaming and crying kind. Overall, there's no doubt in my mind that I got off pretty easy on this parenting gig.

Previous entry: A Two Mistake Night

Next entry: A Boring Day with Collision Damage

Menu Bar about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!