The Negative Voice
Newest Entry Older Entries Guestbook Contact Me Get Your Own Diary Links Imagemap

Valid HTML 4.01!

[Get Opera for Windows!]

2001-04-20 - 5:14 p.m.

Sexual Orientation is an Illusion

I was reading an old friend's diary just now and I wanted to write down a thought I had a while back.

When Shelley came out to me, she seemed to expect me to regard it as the final doom for any hope that she'd get together with me. No such luck for her.

You see, when I thought about it, I decided that our normal convention of sexual orientation related to mostly to the opinions of chronic busybodies. I think the two sexual orientations are:

  • Wanting to sleep with me

  • Not wanting to sleep with me

If a person doesn't want to sleep with me, I don't care who on earth they do want to sleep with. From my point of view, their sexual partner is no more or less a part of our relationship than their best friend.

If a person does want to sleep with me, and I return the feeling, and we're both at leisure to act on it, hey, rock.

If a person wants to sleep with me but the other conditions aren't met, then there's no problem was long as they're cool about it. If they're not cool about it, it's a problem in exactly the same way as not being cool about other stuff, like hating guns or owning lots of big dogs.

Getting excited about the other stuff just causes problems. I prefer to keep it simple.

Previous entry: Happy Memories 1

Next entry: The British Invasion

Menu Bar about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!