The Negative Voice
Newest Entry Older Entries Guestbook Contact Me Get Your Own Diary Links Imagemap

Valid HTML 4.01!

[Get Opera for Windows!]

2002-08-13 -

The Final Rush (of the summer)

Well, the second Rush show was a lot like the first, which means it rocked in ways even the advanced technology of the fourth millenium AD will not truly be able to measure. After taking special care to stretch my neck throughout the day, it was feeling fairly OK by the time Rush played Natural Science. I figured, hey, I may not have this hair next time they come to town, and I unbraided my hair and head-banged until I couldn't take it anymore. I loved it. I think I'm going to get someone to use my digital-8 camera to film me headbanging at some point, just so Liralyn will be able to see what a freak her dad was back in the day.

(For those of you reading this without ever seeing what I look like, I have tolerably long hair. As of this morning, when wet and hanging straight down it sits about halfway down my thighs.)

Every time I really get into headbanging, I get a small ovation from the crowd nearby. (OK, almost every time- when I started thrashing to Joe Mancuso's one-man acoustic version of Rush's Presto, I think I just confused people.) I did it at a Dixie Power Trio show at Chelsea High School and kids half my age were leaning out into the aisles to give me high-fives as I returned to my seat. What's up with that? Folks, headbanging is not rocket science. It takes a little practice to figure out how to do it without giving yourself a concussion, but that's all. If all of you actually think it's that cool, for the love of Ged bang your own heads!

Wusses.

Anyway, the show last night did seem a little weird because it was just Eric and I. None of the usual Ann Arbor Rush freaks turned up. I certainly didn't mind getting to hang with Eric, since we've only been best friends for almost two thirds of my life, but still... more friends would be better.

I tried to do something about the small turnout, especially since the friends who bought the seats ended up eating a lot of money. I felt sufficiently emotionally tough after hanging with Lissa on Saturday that I actually called the girl who broke my heart many, many years ago to see if she was still a fan and wanted to go. Turns out she was sick. I'm not sure if I was relieved or disappointed, on the whole, but still... I feel a little bit good that I'm over all that pain enough to make the gesture now. Or perhaps I feel good that my desire to save Joe or Nevik $60 outweighed my desire to never think about that particular emotional disaster again. Hell, I'm not entirely sure why I sent the ex mail, I just now that any one of the reasons I might have done it would qualify as morally virtuous.

Having talked to Lissa extensively about the distant past, I was struck by how many of the stupid mistakes I made when I was younger were caused by being afraid to tell people how I felt. It's a problem I think I've made pretty good strides in getting over.

Previous entry: Rush, You Poseurs!

Next entry: I Have a Problem Stuck In My Teeth

Menu Bar about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!