The Negative Voice
Newest Entry Older Entries Guestbook Contact Me Get Your Own Diary Links Imagemap

Valid HTML 4.01!

[Get Opera for Windows!]

2001-05-18 - 5:56 p.m.

Return to the Wild

I just got done reading an article in the Detroit Free Press about trees growing out of abandoned buildings, and I feel weird about the idea.

I'm no fan of Detroit; I think the entire megacity sat fat and happy through the 50s and early 60s, figuring that Big Auto would always pay off. When it didn't, nobody came up with a new idea, and the place turned to crap.

Still, at one point major industry lived in Detroit. Now those buildings have been abandoned for so long that wildlife has returned. Will parts of it look like the ruins in "Planet of the Apes" in one hundred years?

I hope our ability to maintain our civilization doesn't sit so close to the brink that a couple setbacks would return us all to the wild. But Detroit seems to argue that it might.

Previous entry: Anything But Time

Next entry: Gadgetude Gone Wrong

Menu Bar about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!