The Negative Voice
Newest Entry Older Entries Guestbook Contact Me Get Your Own Diary Links Imagemap

Valid HTML 4.01!

[Get Opera for Windows!]

2002-10-24 -

Refuse to Believe

I'm glad they finally caught the DC-area sniper. Maybe the factually inaccurate anti-gun propagandizing that has been masquerading as news will stop now.

In other news, my oft-mentioned friend Shelley's wife had her baby on Tuesday, and there was much stokage.

We carved the second pumpkin at casa Julie today, repeating the pattern of the first- Julie rips out the guts, Liralyn draws the design she wants on the front, and I carve it. Why does Julie get the nasty part? Because frankly, I'd rather have Halloween without pumpkins than get my hands covered in pumpkin guts.

Lately I've been reading "The Mythical Man-Month", which is one of the major historical texts on the art of software engineering. It was written over twenty years ago, so there are amusing anachronisms. He'll be talking about some fundamental problem of software design, and I'll be nodding my head and thinking about how I've seen that problem at work, and then he'll mention that the problem will get easier to solve as computerized text-editing facilities improve. Wups.

I sometimes think about trying to make a lateral career move, from managing sysadmins to managing development teams. Where I stand now, it seems like I could solve more of my groups problems as manager of the group writing the software we deploy than I can now. That may be an illusion, but it's a necessary one. I refuse to believe that the crap I live with at work is the best that the field of software development has to offer.

Previous entry: Bossy Chicks

Next entry: Outrage Revisited

Menu Bar about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!