The Negative Voice
Newest Entry Older Entries Guestbook Contact Me Get Your Own Diary Links Imagemap

Valid HTML 4.01!

[Get Opera for Windows!]

2001-04-04 - 12:33 a.m.

Cursed Pop Music

Most of the time, my musical taste runs to the extremely obscure. I mean, I have all of Echolyn's albums, for ged's sake. I generally like it that way, because frankly, most pop music sucks the bleeding sores on a weasel's ass.

So right now I have Vertical Horizon's "Everything You Want" cd playing, and damn me, I like it. Worse, since I never listen to the radio, I heard the almost-title track long after it had peaked. I may have been the last person in America hoping MTV would play the video. And I feel like a total fraud.

Still, I feel I have a certain obligation when this sort of thing happens. I don't want to be one of those people who insists that _Titanic_ HAD to have been crap, because it made so much money and so many barely pubescent females loved it. I want to be someone who likes what he likes, regardless of whether it's the same thing everyone else likes or not.

I feel good saying that, but I have to admit, I'd be worried if I didn't have some pleasantly obscure A3 looping in the car. Sometimes our intellectual standards coexist poorly with our emotional ones.

Previous entry: Aargh

Next entry: A Brief Rant About Bad HTML

Menu Bar about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!