The Negative Voice
Newest Entry Older Entries Guestbook Contact Me Get Your Own Diary Links Imagemap

Valid HTML 4.01!

[Get Opera for Windows!]

2001-03-16 - 2:00:16 PM

Plague Day

I'm not sure if I'm fighting off the flu or just low on food. On one hand, Liralyn's first words to me yesterday were, "Daddy, this is how I barf". (No, she didn't actually barf, she just showed me the body language that goes with that act.) On the other hand, I haven't eaten yet today either. The worst part of knowing people with the flu is not knowing when you might get it yourself.

So I'm working from home today to minimize the spread of heinous disease, yay. That gives me a little leisure to go through my inbox and clean it out, which is way overdue. I sent a *lot* of mail out about this migration project and most of it hasn't been replied to. Lart lart lart.

What am I doing other than trying to work instead of being sick? Let's see. When I decide I've worked a full day, I need to go buy some new pants. Also socks. And maybe a new electric mattress pad, if I can find a good end-of-winter sale. The old one broke. For the price, I'd have liked it to last more than 2 1/2 years, dammit. Ah well, at least the weather will be getting warmer in 6 weeks or so. I can wait it out if I have to.

I'm also learning how to use Photoshop. I wish I had found the cash to buy it earlier. I've been using CorelPaint for a long time now, and while they do the same sorts of things, they have totally different conceptual groundings. The whole Photoshop "layer" thing? Not in CorelDraw. All CorelDraw's hyper-sophisticated masking tools? In Photoshop by other names in different places, since a mask in Photoshop is not the same as a mask in CorelPaint. This is all making the learning curve suck ass.

I'm also teaching myself databases. Currently its SQL on Postgres, and later it will be Access. Current Postgres project: Ditch the heinous M4 system I use to make some of the web pages for Mer's Amber game and dump them from a database instead. It's not a *hard* database project. :)

So, no wild thoughts today. Just another Friday in the land of germ infestation.

Previous entry: Just One of Many

Next entry: Why I Hate Diane Feinstein

Menu Bar about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!