The Negative Voice
Newest Entry Older Entries Guestbook Contact Me Get Your Own Diary Links Imagemap

Valid HTML 4.01!

[Get Opera for Windows!]

2003-07-14 - 11:44 p.m.

Pirates, Movies, and Pirate Movies

I finally got to see Pirates of the Caribbean tonight. (It may sound odd for me to say "finally" when the movie just opened last week, but I've been wanting to see it since the moment I saw the trailer, so....)

I'm very glad someone finally made a good pirate movie, as opposed to limp crap like Cutthroat Island. A good pirate movie needs lots of bad behavior, with just enough redeeming good behavior to make it OK to root for the bad guy. PotC found a pretty good middle ground. It even made my brain start working on ways to make cinematic piracy sane enough to run a campaign. I don't actually intend to run one, but it would be a fun intellectual exercise.

A meme from a conversation this weekend: What three movies could you pick to describe your personality? This is a lot harder than picking books, since there are many fewer movies, and they tend to be less defining. Still, here's my first take on a list:

  • Payback

  • The Lion In Winter

  • Sex, Lies, and Videotape

Feel free to leave other suggestions in my guestbook. Hey Splash, is SL&V "smoofy" enough for you?

Previous entry: Geek Quiz

Next entry: Deathday

Menu Bar about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!