The Negative Voice
Newest Entry Older Entries Guestbook Contact Me Get Your Own Diary Links Imagemap

Valid HTML 4.01!

[Get Opera for Windows!]

2001-11-26 - 2:36 a.m.

Post-Holiday Updated

Well, I seem to have survived the holiday season. Yay me.

Shelley's visit was a delight, as I expected. There's something so unreasonable it borders on magic about the fact that we can go 17 months without seeing each other and just pick right back up. Of course, the frequent phone conversations help out rather a lot there, but still, when she's here it feels like she was never gone.

Of course, once she left, it took me a few days to get used to it. That part disturbs me. I didn't end up with a wild crush on her or make an ass out of myself trying to get into her pants or any of my other favorite ways to make an ass of myself. It felt cool. But once she was gone, I felt really down right up until Thanksgiving. Three cheers for the twin miracles of long-lasting friendships and wack brain chemistry.

Thanksgiving was spent at Julie's parents' house, and my parents were invited over. That actually made it much better; the older generation mostly kept itself busy, and Julie and I didn't have to wonder whether her parents were bothering me or mine her. The food coma nearly knocked me out, but I didn't take a nap, I just sat on the couch and watched Buffy.

Friday was a low-key day. I had lunch with Julie and dinner with Tish, watched some Iron Chef, and generally cooled out.

Saturday I went to the Hands-On Museum with Liralyn and Julie. She's on the young side for some of the exhibits, but we still had a blast. After that was done I came home and did Jason stuff. I finally finished the last volume of Morrison's History of United States Naval Operations in World War II, thus closing out a three-month-long project, and I felt so good about it I read three more books the same day. And two more today, huzzah.

These four day weekends actually work out pretty well. Someday I want a job with a three day work week.

Previous entry: Slacking

Next entry: Please don't crash

Menu Bar about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!