The Negative Voice
Newest Entry Older Entries Guestbook Contact Me Get Your Own Diary Links Imagemap

Valid HTML 4.01!

[Get Opera for Windows!]

2001-08-15 - 4:55 p.m.

Pager Hell Some More

I have nothing new to contribute except that I'm getting more and more tempted to see if it really is possible to skip a pager across a pond.

Summary of work this week:

Them: We have this problem, and we noticed that you have some unusual equipment installed on the system where we see the problem. Could you swap it out and install your (four times as expensive) standard gear?

Me: Well, gee, the cheapo box is 90% idle right now, so I can't see how a bigger box would help.

Them: It's a serious problem and we should try everything we can.

Me: Fine. Where do I send it?

Them: We dunno.

Me: Fine. I'll look into it.

Them:

I don't mind the odd page when people need my help. It's just making me crazy that I can't get loose of this idiot situation where I'm already spending enough money to buy a damn car just on the off chance it might possibly cure a problem that is almost certainly elsewhere. What do they want from me, blood? 'Cause if they do, it won't be mine.

Previous entry: Another Lazy Day

Next entry: Bloody Sick of This Pager

Menu Bar about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!