The Negative Voice
Newest Entry Older Entries Guestbook Contact Me Get Your Own Diary Links Imagemap

Valid HTML 4.01!

[Get Opera for Windows!]

2001-03-06 - 4:08:41 PM

I Have No Idea

The worst thing about being in management is that every day I lose a little bit more of my technical knowledge. Once upon a time something as simple as writing an argument parser in Perl would have been trivial. It would have been something I could type in one window while reading mail in the other. Now I do it with the Perl Cookbook open on my desk so I can copy the examples.

This is relevant to my day for two reasons. First, I just wrote an argument parsing routine. Second, I'm so desperate that when I made one of those idiot newbie mistakes that people like me hate to admit to, I decided to restore the damaged files from tape myself. Not because I was too embarassed to ask for help- after surviving the Product from Hell, I have no shame about that- but because I might actually learn something interesting. Clearly desperation has set in.

Normally I like to relate my diary entries to some larger conceptual point. I figure that if I reread these years from now, I won't care that I did something stupid in March of 2001, but I might care that I was thinking about the way that your friends say more about you than your own words do.

In this case there is no larger conceptual point. Feh. Stupid tape drive. Hurry.

Previous entry: Slipping Standards

Next entry: An Obnoxious Parody of a Dear Friend

Menu Bar about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!