The Negative Voice
Newest Entry Older Entries Guestbook Contact Me Get Your Own Diary Links Imagemap

Valid HTML 4.01!

[Get Opera for Windows!]

2002-03-01 -

Minerva and Me

I decided to drop out of the adoption diary ring when I discovered it was making my precious diary page non-W3C compliant. A man has to have priorities.

For some reason- I can't recall what brought it to mind- I was thinking about adoption a couple weekends ago. People who find out I'm adopted often ask if I want to find my birth parents. (If Liralyn was older, she'd probably ask too. She's very interested in the details of mommies who make babies vs mommies who raise babies.) I always say that I'm doing OK with the parents I have, and so what would be the point?

There's a different fantasy that lives under all that, though. I want the credit for being me all to myself. I don't want to meet my birth parents and find out that my dad is also a fervent militarist or that my mom is a total geek or something like that. Not knowing who they are lets me feel like I, with all my latent splendor, sprang directly from the head of Zeus. (I'd rather have sprung from the head of Odin, but he didn't go for that sort of thing.)

It's a bogus attitude. It's one of the few aspects of my arrogance that I can't manage to back up. But it makes my life a little more fun to live, and that's justification enough for me.

Previous entry: End of month update

Next entry: What does it take to stir up some hate?

Menu Bar about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!