The Negative Voice
Newest Entry Older Entries Guestbook Contact Me Get Your Own Diary Links Imagemap

Valid HTML 4.01!

[Get Opera for Windows!]

2001-02-23 - 3:46:12 PM

A Tragedy of Manners

Some of you may have noticed a little inconsistency in my diary before last. I normally believe in confrontation and immediate action. Why did my relationship with that woman linger on after the damage was done?

Simple: Along with my delight in violence, I also think manners are important. Also, I read the Odyssey too many times, and I have become infected by the meme of the host-guest relationship.

If I invite someone into my home, much less my bed, they're entitled to a certain level of good treatment unless they push *way* too far. Once they've left the house, they may be fair game, but by then I've usually cooled down. So it can take quite a while for stuff to clear up.

I only get to really have fun at work. Since I know the company pays all these people good money to do their jobs, I feel entitled to take the gloves off. Nothing gives me a lift like calling some inept developer's manager and explaining that since the developer is so damn stupid, we'll be putting all his code through an audit before we accept it from now on. It makes me feel positively spiritual.

Previous entry: Feeling Sleepy Now

Next entry: A Momentary Lapse

Menu Bar about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!