The Negative Voice
Newest Entry Older Entries Guestbook Contact Me Get Your Own Diary Links Imagemap

Valid HTML 4.01!

[Get Opera for Windows!]

2001-08-22 - 1:25 a.m.

Liralyn vs My Brain

It turns out that being a parent can cure phobias.

Well, not completely, but I realized to day that my perceived need to be in control of things for Liralyn totally trumps my fear of dogs. And it's no trivial fear, either- when even the tiniest little dog yaps at me, my fight-or-flight response goes into high gear. Dogs are my mortal enemies. I would feel very much better if there were no dogs in the world. If it were legal, I might even work toward that goal at a personal level, if you know what I mean. This is a serious bugaboo for me.

However, when I'm out walking around with Liralyn, it becomes a complete non-issue. She likes dogs, and I don't want to ruin things for her by going all to pieces when a dog comes around. So I sit there and act nice to the dog, and all the while there's a little voice in my head asking, "Why are we not running away screaming, and will screaming and running be an option again any time soon?"

There's just no end to the things I'll do for my sprout.

Previous entry: Bloody Sick of This Pager

Next entry: War, with Preface By Liralyn

Menu Bar about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!