The Negative Voice
Newest Entry Older Entries Guestbook Contact Me Get Your Own Diary Links Imagemap

Valid HTML 4.01!

[Get Opera for Windows!]

2001-06-05 - 12:19 a.m.

Love Never Dies

That quote pops up all over the place. Most recently it was one character's dying thought in a Ken MacLeod book. As I get older, I feel more and more inclined to agree.

There's a line in the third book of the Earthsea series, where Ged says something like, "Surely I would know, even now, if Ogion were dead." I always loved that line, and felt the universe ought to work that way. It would be a far more beautiful world if I could feel when Shelley needed me. (And, of course, vice-versa.)

Talking with Lissa again has reminded me of all this. After ten years, I still have a sort of base-level assumption in my head that we're friends and can talk to each other as such. If she had (for whatever reason, 'cause I can't imagine one), "Wow, it's great to hear from you, especially now. I really need someone; could you drive down?" my reaction would have been, "Sure, I can be free this weekend."

Existentialism tells us that things become meaningful according to how much of ourselves we put into them. I feel like I too often run up against the far side of that principle- that I just can't find enough room to put all that I want into relationships.

The other nice thing about being able to pick up where Lissa and I left off (well, sort of) is that it suggests that there can be second changes.

Previous entry: Another week, Another Friday

Next entry: One Nasty Dream

Menu Bar about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!