The Negative Voice
Newest Entry Older Entries Guestbook Contact Me Get Your Own Diary Links Imagemap

Valid HTML 4.01!

[Get Opera for Windows!]

2001-06-21 - 2:36 a.m.

I Demand Less Tolerance

I caught a little bit of MTV's Real World Reunion special today. For whatever reason, today the show's insipid do-gooderness really grated on me, especially the way they have their former cast members go on speaking tours to share their pint-size little brains with college audiences.

The first one that set me off was the suicide prevention one. Lindsey (I think that was her name) did a little bit about how you don't need permission to try to save a friend's life. I spent a few months seriously pondering suicide once, and let me tell you, if one of my friends had tried to get me "help", I would have gone postal on their ass. You want to see how I'm doing? Call. You want to make me feel better? Offer sex. Don't get me involved with the mental health industry, especially when doing so might cause problems for my gun habit. Besides, letting more people off themselves might breed some mental toughness back into the population.

Anyway, I want to take this one step farther and issue a general call for mass intolerance. Not some simple-minded intolerance of masses of people, ala the usual "I hate group x" ranting. I want a mass of people to look around and demonstrate some intolerance for some specific individuals.

Let's step right up and tell the stupid people to shut up until they grow brains. Let's tell the rude people where to stick it. I want to see the people who try to cheat traffic by zooming ahead while others slow down to clear the closing lane sysematically run off the road. As Doctor Drew might say, we need to create consequences for their behaviors.

It's better to be just than nice, it's better to be Mer than to be on _The Real World_, and if that shit hurts your feelings, toughen up.

We will now return you to your regularily scheduled simpering.

(Speaking of consequences, yesterday I told Lissa about the systematic campaign of vengeance I waged against Wendi once upon a time. She hasn't written back since. Either she was out sick today, or I scared her off. Ah well. One must adhere to one's principles, especially when they include the core values of honesty and retribution.)

Previous entry: Growth and Revenge

Next entry: Dinner with Lissa

Menu Bar about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!