The Negative Voice
Newest Entry Older Entries Guestbook Contact Me Get Your Own Diary Links Imagemap

Valid HTML 4.01!

[Get Opera for Windows!]

2001-08-10 - 5:09 p.m.

Another Lazy Day

Well, today was another day that I wanted to get up early and work out and then didn't.

Same old problem: Too much interesting TV to watch, too many books to read, too little interest in waking up once I get to sleep.

I really intended to go to work on my just-purchased boxed set of Samuel Eliot Morrison's History of United States Navy Operations in World War II, but instead I find myself re-reading Tom Clancy. I'm not sure what's caused it- work, troubled friends, the state of the nation- but I seem to feel a strong need to escape into a fictional universe with a strong moral order. Clancy's never been a great author, but his habit of demonizing his villains is working pretty well for me right now.

As with working out, hopefully I'll get back to serious reading soon enough.

Previous entry: Whatever Happened to Esprit de Corps?

Next entry: Pager Hell Some More

Menu Bar about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!