The Negative Voice
Newest Entry Older Entries Guestbook Contact Me Get Your Own Diary Links Imagemap

Valid HTML 4.01!

[Get Opera for Windows!]

2001-02-28 - 1:25:54 PM

A Momentary Lapse

Today is the day they announce the layoffs at work. Obviously this is a crappy day, although I have no expectation that I'll lose my job. (Given a decent severence package, I'd enjoy losing my job.) The company has laid on extra security and closed off all the entrances to the building that don't go by the security desk, which is pretty weak IMO. Unless the extra security is a lot tougher than the usual crew, they'd have been a lot better off running "bring your gun to work day" for the unfired people and letting us treat any hypothetical disgruntled employees as an internal matter.

Anyway, bad as this exact day is, I'm feeling OK in general. My crew has been working really hard and we're where we need to be. I managed to avoid having Dan contract any infections from all the dirt in my apartment when he was here. Liralyn was nice to me last night, and there's fun planned for the weekend. It could probably get better than this, but not without getting three wishes or something. Or perhaps it's more accurate to say that this is almost as good as I could deserve it to be right now. Which isn't to say that I'm perfectly happy or anything...

I used to know someone who was fond of saying, "You can't have everything- where would you put it?" I always pointed out that "everything" includes not just the little things, but also the big things they're sitting on, so there's obviously plenty of room. MTV's old credo- "Too Much is Never Enough"- would work just as well for me. I'm always finding new things I like without truly growing tired of the old. Newer interests have largely driven playing bass guitar out of my life, for example, but given time I'd go back to playing. There's just never enough time.

So when I say that I'm pretty happy today, I don't mean that I'm not wishing I had more money, or a house, or more vacation time, or whatever. It's just that I spent all last week working feverishly and this work looks pretty swell by comparison.

Don't worry, gentle readers, I'll be grumpy again in no time.

Previous entry: A Tragedy of Manners

Next entry: The Lyrics to My Madness

Menu Bar about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!