The Negative Voice
Newest Entry Older Entries Guestbook Contact Me Get Your Own Diary Links Imagemap

Valid HTML 4.01!

[Get Opera for Windows!]

2003-03-14 - 11:21 a.m.

Parse Like a Jackass

So there's this line off the new Dar album that goes, "the world's not falling apart because of me." I'm pretty sure she means to be saying that the world may or may not be falling apart, but if it is, it's not because of her (me), right? But being a philosophy major, and therefore having college-level training in nitpicking and other jackass behavior, I can't resist pointing out that it can be taken in other ways. For example, it could parse this way: The world - is not falling apart - because of me. Which suggests that if it wasn't for me, and my sublime powers of coolness, the world would most assuredly be falling apart.

Previous entry: The Madness of Uncertainty

Next entry: Jumping The Track

Menu Bar about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!