The Negative Voice
Newest Entry Older Entries Guestbook Contact Me Get Your Own Diary Links Imagemap

Valid HTML 4.01!

[Get Opera for Windows!]

2001-09-04 - 11:50 p.m.

Just Another Staff Meeting

Well, if Mer's going to stop posting, I guess I better pick up the slack. Feh. As if. Weep, weep, weep...

Let's see... well, last week I spent two days in Ashburn. The trip went fairly well; my crew there ambushed me and heaper mental abuse on me, but I took it like a man. All's fair in love and system administration- which two pursuits are far more opposed than love and war.

While I was there, my boss asked me to look into a long-standing problem. I spent the next three days getting back up to speed on the system in question. I read lots of web pages, I spent $45 on the latest edition of the definitive reference manual, and I spent some time over the Labor Day weekend putting together a benchmarking system.

In today's staff meeting my boss blew the issue off. He took 15 seconds to say that we never committed to any specific performance level, so he wasn't worried about it. Then he moved on. When he came back to me, he chastised me for spending so much time on that problem instead of working on ongoing projects.

I tried to blow it off, but I ended up sending him a nastygram. If he doesn't respond, I may call him and complain. I don't mind hard work and long hours, but I object when I do the work and get insulted for my pains.

Gnash, gnash, gnash.

Previous entry: War, with Preface By Liralyn

Next entry: The Worm Turns

Menu Bar about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!