The Negative Voice
Newest Entry Older Entries Guestbook Contact Me Get Your Own Diary Links Imagemap

Valid HTML 4.01!

[Get Opera for Windows!]

2002-09-16 -

ID3 Tags and Monday Night Football

Well, I made big strides towards normalcy today, waking up around 1pm with only a moderate conviction that death would be preferable to consciousness. I ended up working from home, though, because death would have been absolutely preferable to having to do something mentally taxing, like dress myself.

After work I started looking into my nascent MP3 collection. I don't currently have any use for MP3s. I'm a bit of an audio geek, and the idea of listening to music on my computer when I could listen to it on my very nice stereo seems stupid. However, I am deep in lust for an iPod, and I figure that when I finally cough up the cash for one, it will be nice to have some CDs ripped and waiting.

The problem is that using Exact Audio Copy and RazorLAME to make the MP3s leaves them without any audio tags, so I spent about four hours after work scouring the net for info about ID3 tags and writing a Perl script to create them. All that would have been much easier if the wankers at eMusic hadn't bought the ID3 standards organization and then shut down their web site. I was left using 3rd party tools to make ID3 tags and then looking at them in Perl to figure out what they were. (Not entirely, but for some of the fine points.) But hey, with another hour or two's worth of work, I'll have a regular old assembly line here. Yay me.

Oh yeah, and go Eagles. McNabb played a fine game, but all three of the Eagles main running backs showed up to play as well. I'm not a big Philly fan, but I hated the Redskins even before Steve Spurrier showed up. As a Umich alum, hating Spurrier and all who travel with him is a sacred trust to me. Die, Washington scum!

Previous entry: Weekend o' Whack

Next entry: A Modest Non-Cannabalistic Proposal

Menu Bar about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!