The Negative Voice
Newest Entry Older Entries Guestbook Contact Me Get Your Own Diary Links Imagemap

Valid HTML 4.01!

[Get Opera for Windows!]

2002-06-11 -

Lazy Hosting

This was, all in all, a good day. Work for the Evil Telco will never be "good" as long as our stock remains low and the company is frantic to cut costs, but it was as good as it has been recently. Post work, I got to hang with Liralyn, including a trip to the Dairy-Go-Round for soft serve. It's not like soft serve is actually good, but it's tasty and reminds of the dorm. Ice cream for desert was often the only redeeming factor when I ate at East Quad.

I'm trying to talk a friend of mine into coming up for a visit, and I had an odd thought: Having company for a certain duration actually makes life much simpler. For two or three days, you just do whatever will keep the guest entertained. If it works a reasonable amount of the time, you've been a good host and get swanky karma. Some guests can make this a difficult proposition, but it's still easier than trying to balance all the demands on my time than a normal weekend might present.

Re-reading that, I think it takes a certain sort of person to turn a visiting friend into an excuse to be intellectually lazy. I am that sort of person.

Previous entry: Home of the Sixteen Minute Mile

Next entry: Precocity and Firearms

Menu Bar about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!