The Negative Voice
Newest Entry Older Entries Guestbook Contact Me Get Your Own Diary Links Imagemap

Valid HTML 4.01!

[Get Opera for Windows!]

2002-03-02 -

What does it take to stir up some hate?

Sooner or later, everyone fails at something. It's no big deal. When you fail to do something in an area that ought to be one of your strengths, though, that just hurts. Today I felt this pain. I discovered that I could not seem to be rude enough to get Pran to stop talking to me.

I have disliked Pran for ten years now. Other people in our group seem to tolerate him, but I (and many other people) find him simply too annoying to be born. I'm talking about the sort of dislike for someone that makes you not show up places if it means seeing the disliked individual.

He tried to talk to me about this once- he called me at my job and asked me to be nicer to him during role-playing games. He figured that I was some sort of ringleader and if I stopped, everyone else might follow suit. I was noncommital. He asked why I disliked him. I told him I thought he was an idiot. I could have gone into more detail and thrown in more adjectives, but hey, I was working. Anyway, I thought that might get the point across. Nope.

Last time I saw Pran and he attempted to initiate conversation, I looked him right in the eye and said "Pran, why are you talking to me?" I thought I had gotten the point across. No such like. Tonight he walked up to me and began talking to me again. So I looked him in the eye and said, "Pran, I thought I made it clear: Don't talk to me."

I guess that if it happens again, I can always resort to, "Look, you idiot, don't talk to me." But I'm starting to worry that I'm simply not equal to the task.

Previous entry: Minerva and Me

Next entry: Get Thee Behind Me

Menu Bar about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!