The Negative Voice
Newest Entry Older Entries Guestbook Contact Me Get Your Own Diary Links Imagemap

Valid HTML 4.01!

[Get Opera for Windows!]

2002-06-12 -

Precocity and Firearms

Unexpectedly, today I found myself very pleased that Liralyn knows as much about sex at three as I did at ten. I means she has a good idea of what "private" means.

Julie got a little worked up about the recent kidnapping in Utah and decided to tell Liralyn about how Daddy has guns and would protect Mommy and Liralyn if anyone bad tried to hurt them. That's true, of course, but I immediately envisioned Liralyn getting shoved at day care and telling some four year old that her Daddy would shoot them. I think the day care providers would be less than amused.

I decided to head that off at the pass, and told Liralyn that Daddy's guns were private. We went over what that meant, and she knew all the rules about private things already, so the entire conversation took less than a minute.

It would be harder to explain what sort of crazy "private" thing it can be if Daddy rants about it on the Internet, but luckily she doesn't read the internet, so that buys me a few years. Once she's older I can explain about gun grabbers and poor critical thinking skills and then teach her to shoot, at which point she'll understand entirely.

It's true that having a crazy precocious kid can be a pain, but trust me, it's the way to go anyway.

Previous entry: Lazy Hosting

Next entry: The Weekend Made Me Sick

Menu Bar about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!